Blind Date

Blind Date

“She’ll like him,” he said.

“He’s good looking,” he said.

“Ask her,” he said.

So I did.  He was a boyfriend I had in high school named Ed.  He was a few years older and in college.  He was studying accounting, but he should have been in advertising or marketing.

She was my twin sister Karol.  Ed wanted me to help him arrange a blind date for his supposedly attractive friend named Ted and my sister.

I begged her, and the deal was sealed.

When they arrived, Karol and I were both surprised.  The tall, dark stranger we had both envisioned was shorter-than-us and red-haired, and, sadly, please-put-a-bag-over-your-head unattractive.

The guys were in the kitchen making small talk with our mother, and Karol dragged me bodily into the living room.  She hissed, “I am not going out with him!”

I replied, “Ed said he was good looking.  I can’t help it.  We can’t turn back now.”

After more whining, she was resigned.

In the car, I sat up front with Ed, who I had dated a couple of times, and she and Greg sat in the back.  We went bowling.  I don’t remember the game, but I was still in the throes of new-found love.

Karol apparently had had enough though.  When we got the Pizza Hut, she suggested we go to the bathroom, which was sister-code for “we need to talk.”  Slyly, she playfully suggested we “trick the boys,” by switching clothes and pretending to be the other.  Oddly, as identical twins we had never done this–assumed each other’s identity.  Somehow, she made it seems like fun without any negative consequences.

We proceeded to switch everything: shirts, jeans, shoes, belts, jewelry.  A total transformation.

As we approached the guys, she said I should sit on the booth side with Ted and she with Ed.  We sat down.  All seemed fine.  Until we tried to talk a little, and that gave us a way.  Ed noticed right away.  This probably would have worked on a first date, but not a third or fourth.

In my mind, I was thinking it was time to switch back, but Karol apparently had not thought the same.  She may have had an ulterior motive.  So we remained in our new seats all through the meal.

Then, quicker than me, she rode shotgun on the way home too while I brooded in the back with Ted.  Thankfully, she wasn’t interested in Ed, only in getting away from Ted, the red-headed blunder.

Somehow, Ed must have known.  He never asked her to double date again.

Lesson:  Be careful of what he said and of what she asked.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

